St. David's HealthCare June 28, 2017

St. David’s South Austin Medical Center Only Hospital
In Austin to Earn IBCLC Care Award

AUSTIN, Texas—St. David’s South Austin Medical Center has received the International Board Certified Lactation Consultant® (IBCLC) Care Award in recognition of staffing professionals who hold the prestigious International Board Certified Lactation Consultant® (IBCLC®) certification, as well as providing a lactation program for breastfeeding families. In addition, the facility demonstrated that it recently completed activities that help protect, promote and support breastfeeding.

“Facilities that receive the IBCLC Care Award have taken initiative to improve the overall health of their patients by making breastfeeding a priority and implementing lactation support programs,” Regina Maria Roig-Romero, board chair of the International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners, said. “An important part of providing excellent breastfeeding care is having expert assistance available when the breastfeeding family needs it. IBCLC professionals are the healthcare professionals best suited to help families achieve their breastfeeding goals.”

IBCLCs focus on preventive care, so they are available during pregnancy to assess and provide information on how to successfully initiate breastfeeding. They continue that assistance after the baby is born by helping families overcome breastfeeding challenges, providing accurate information and continuing to support them as their baby grows. They assist families returning to work or school; help train nursing staff to manage basic breastfeeding care; and help families in unique situations, such as breastfeeding more than one baby or nursing a sick or premature infant.

“We are committed to promoting breastfeeding among new mothers, and we are pleased to be recognized for our efforts,” Laura Evans, director of women’s services at St. David’s South Austin Medical Center, said. “We have a very active breastfeeding support group and are proud to provide outpatient breastfeeding services.”

As allied healthcare professionals with the leading internationally recognized certification for professional lactation services, IBCLC professionals work in hospitals and birthing centers, clinics, public health agencies, private practices, community settings, government agencies and in research. There are currently more than 28,000 professionals in 105 countries worldwide that are IBCLCs, a program independently accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA). NCCA accreditation represents a mark of quality for certification programs.

- 30 -

St. David’s South Austin Medical Center

St. David’s South Austin Medical Center is part of St. David’s HealthCare, one of the largest health systems in Texas, which was recognized with a Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award in 2014. St. David's South Austin Medical Center is an acute care facility with 300 beds, offering a range of complex specialties and sub-specialties, including a nationally accredited oncology program with the area’s only adult bone marrow transplant program; a trauma program that includes all of the capabilities and programmatic elements of a Level II trauma center to treat the most severely injured and critical patients; a comprehensive cardiac program; full-service maternity and newborn care with Level I and II nurseries; and two full-service emergency centers in the communities of Bee Cave and Bastrop. In 2016 and 2017, the hospital earned a national distinction for patient safety from The Leapfrog Group.